Baking, Holidays, and Santacon!

So it’s Christmas morning, and I’m SURE you’re wondering why I’m even blogging. 

Why you ask?

My youngest brother comes into my bedroom at 6:58am saying “It’s close enough to 7.” You see, that’s my dads rule. We couldn’t get up earlier than 7 in the morning to open gifts. For me, I’m 24, I’m a little past the I can’t sleep thing, but Taylor apparently is not. 

So, we all had to get up at 7. 

It kills me because the Christmas Magic thing with him is long gone. He hasn’t believed in Santa Claus in forever, but we STILL got up at 7 because he was too excited. The kid didn’t even sleep last night! Not to mention the 20 year old didn’t sleep much either. Me? I talked to AJ while he drove to a friends house, then when he got there we got off the phone and I promptly passed out. 

I guess that makes me old now…

This is E X A C T L Y what coffee is for. Mmmmm, wonderful, glorious coffee. 

With that said, I thought I would share with you my baked treats I made starting at 8pm Sunday night. I’ll include a few links of the recipes I used. Some of the pictures I’ll be showing you are from my cell phone, so they won’t be as good as the ones from my camera. (and this isn’t going to be a step by step. Just random pictures, and not of everything I made.) 

The first item on the list: Starbucks Pumpkin Scones: DELICIOUS. They taste just like the scones from Starbucks, the only difference is they’re not as dense. I used a little more pumpkin puree than the recipe called for, and I altered the spices a tad as well. (a little more never usually hurts, right?) This was my first time making scones, and I couldn’t be more pleased! it was easier than I thought it would be, and they’re pretty stellar in taste. Even my mother liked them and she hates pumpkin! 

Here’s the recipe I used :]

http://east9thstreet.com/2011/08/25/starbucks-pumpkin-scones-recipe/

ImageImageImageImageImageAfter the scones were done, it was time to glaze them!

Image

 

Another item on my bake list I didn’t take pictures of. Why? I’m not entirely sure. But I made Christmas Bark. Bakers semi sweet chocolate, Bakers white chocolate. Melt each in a bowl. Then in either bowl, add dried apricots and dried cranberries and whatever else you want to add. Put dollops on a wax paper lined jellyroll pan, swirl with a knife, and refrigerate until hard. Pure chocolate bliss!

Item #3 Rolo Cookies

Easy, and I have the recipe memorized. All you need for these is a box of fudge cake mix, few tablespoons of water, an egg and a little butter. Mix, put on cookie sheet and bake 8 minutes. Take the cookies out of the oven, put an unwrapped rolo in the center of them, and back in the oven they go for 2 minutes. 

These cookies are chewy, fudgy with caramel rolo goodness. And for some reason I’m the one that has to make these cookies to take over to grandma’s every year. 

Image

 

Next on the list, (drum roll please) are S’ M O R E S K R I S P I E T R E A T S. 

That’s right. I said it. 

These are nearly as good as the s’mores stuffed chocolate chip cookies. A L M O S T .  

http://www.glorioustreats.com/2011/07/smores-rice-krispies-treats-recipe.html

What I love about these the most is they’re picture-esk. They look how they’re supposed to!  And they’re huge. (For these I just took pictures with my cell phone, I was done using my big fancy camera by this point. It was getting late, and I was getting tired.) 

ImageImageImage

 

Y U M M O. Rachel Ray definitely has the right words for moments like this. 

Now it’s Christmas! 

Coffee with hot chocolate and mini marshmallows are in my coffee cup. ImageImageImage

The sound of Borderlands 2 is playing in the background as well as my father and brother getting angry with the game and each other. My mother and other brother are out by their gaming systems playing their new video games they got as gifts. 

So while I’m at it, here’s some more cell phone pictures that I’ve take over the past couple of days in preparation for Christmas(and Christmas Eve it’self). This won’t be the last Christmas related post as AJ and I are celebrating when he gets back, and there are happenings going on later today that will have more pictures to. Fear not. I will return :}

Christmas Eve!

Image

Image

Sam (great friend of mine) and I got Starbucks before we had to go do our own Christmas things last night.

AJ’s and my Christmas tree that we decorated :]

Image

 

Oh, and by the way, Fort Wayne had a Santacon 2012, and YOU BETTCHA we went!

Image

Image

 

Last but not least; two random pictures of myself with an ornament on our family Christmas tree that really screams out what kind of family we are. (Don’t judge!) 

Image

 

I apologize for such a long post! But if you made it to the end, congratulations! Go bake, go do your Christmas thing and make sure you play with your new toys after you tell everyone in your family how much you love them. 

 

Until we meet again, Merry Christmas! 

Now start planning for New Years :]

 

 

xoxox

Leave a Reply

